Britain’s shopping basket has changed.

If you’re not aware of the growth in the gluten-free foods market, you’ve obviously been living under a rock for the past few years. In the past year alone there’s been a 40% rise in the amount of money customers are spending on gluten-free products. That’s huge! You’ve probably noticed the change in your local supermarket, with shelf space where there was once regular foods being taken over with the growing variety of gluten-free products.

Gluten Free Facts Infographic

The great thing is these new products are comparable with regular foods, meaning more and more choice is being introduced for those of you who have to eat gluten-free because of your health. And it means that for those of you choosing a gluten-free diet, it’s even easier now that there are tastier alternatives available.

But what does this have to do with alcohol we hear you say? What about if we told you most types of alcohol can be found gluten-free? Happy days!

What to avoid:

Beers, lagers, stouts and ales are not suitable for a gluten-free diet.

Beer is made from a variety of ingredients like hops, barley and other grains. Hops are gluten-free but barley isn’t, so mainstream beer is not ok. However there are gluten free beers available out there, so hope is not lost!

If you are looking for a gluten-free alcoholic beverage on a casual night out, we’d say go with a cider. Most ciders are gluten-free because they aren’t brewed from barley or wheat, just apples or pears. We would say it’s prudent to double check the ingredients though, just in case!

Pint of Beer

In the grey area:

Some say spirits are ok, others say they’re not. We’d say it’s up to you to judge for yourself based on your own body, but unflavoured spirits including vodka, tequila, gin, whisky and rum are said to be suitable for a gluten-free diet.

The reason why there’s a question mark for some over distilled spirits is that most are made with cereal grains such as wheat, corn, rye and barley. But the distillation process actually removes the gluten element of the grain, therefore rendering it safe. We would always tell you to err on the side of caution though, as we’ve said above, everyone reacts differently.

The good news is there are some spirits which are produced using alternative ingredients such as potatoes, sugar cane, grapes and other fruits and plants. Hooray!

Gin Cocktail

100% safe:

All wine, prosecco and champagne. There’s not much else to be said on this except, all three are gluten-free. Thank goodness.

Champagne

Now that’s all cleared up, we’ve done all the hard work and put together a list of all the products we sell, which should be fine for a gluten-free diet according to the brands themselves:

Lord & Lady Muck Toffee Vodka

Ciroc Vodka

Chase Potato Vodka

Williams Gin

Herradura Tequila

Ketel One

Bloom Gin

Sipsmith Gin

Monkey Shoulder Whisky